The Journal


The Nordic Journal of Architectural Research (NJAR) is the journal of NAF/NAAR.

NJAR is ranked at international top level, not only in Denmark and Norway but also in Finland, making it, to date, the only scientific journal in architectural research in the Nordic countries ranked at the prestigious level 2.

NJAR represents a pluralist approach to research and publishes original academic contributions within architecture, urban planning and landscape architecture. The journal publishes scientific papers by a double-blind scholarly peer review system. Two senior researchers review every paper. All reviewers are recognised researchers. Scientific reviewers must hold a PhD. Reviewers who do not hold a PhD are only used in very exceptional cases.

The journal supports academic freedom and scientific independence. Submitted papers must not have been published or submitted for publication in another forum.

From 2012 NJAR (ISSN: 1893-5281) is published by SINTEF Academic Press, P O Box 124 Blindern, NO-0314, Norway.

Review templates for the journal can be downloaded here:

NJAR endorses and follows the Committee on Publication Ethics' (COPE) conde of ethical conduct:

The NJAR Editors-in-Chiefs advice NJAR Theme Editors regarding the journal's editorial policy and content. By submitting one's work for review and publication, all authors attest to, and agree to abide by, the COPE code of ethical conduct.

Authors has the right to deposit the publisher's version of her/his paper through the author's own institutional repository or open archive immediately after it is published in the journal.



NJAR publishes 2 issues per year (minimum), either issues with mixed papers or guest edited theme issues.

Theme Issue
Architectural Transformation of Disadvantaged Housing Areas

Theme Editors: Claus Bech-Danielsen, Marie Stender, Mette Mechlenborg
Published April 2019

Mixed Issue
Chief Editors: Madeleine Granvik, Daniel Koch, Magnus Rönn
Planned release: Autumn 2019



Daniel Koch,
Royal Institute of Technology, School of Architecture, Sweden

Madeleine Granvik,
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Urban and Rural Development, Division of Landscape Architecture, Sweden

Magnus Rönn,
Nordic Association of Architectural Research, Sweden

Other members of the editorial board:


  • Anne Elisabeth Toft, Aarhus School of Architecture
  • Lars Brorson Fich, Aalborg University
  • Camilla Ryhl, SBI/Aalborg University
  • Deputy: Henrik Reeh, Copenhagen University


  • Eivind Kasa, NTNU
  • Deputy: Eli Støa, NTNU
  • Elin Børrud, Faculty of Landscape and Society, NMBU
  • Deputy: Leif Daniel Houck, Faculty of Science and Technology, NMBU
  • Trond Haug, SINTEF


  • Deputy: Minna Chudoba, Architecture, Tampere University of Technology
  • Anna-Maija Ylimaula, Architecture, OULU
  • Pirjo Sanaksenaho, Architecture, Aalto University
  • Deputy: Ranja Hautamäki, Architecture, Aalto University


  • Julia Fredriksson, Architecture-Chalmers
  • Daniel Koch, Architecture/KTH
  • Karin Grundström, Urban design/Malmö University
  • Deputy: Jesper Magnusson, Urban design/Malmö University
  • Andrew Butler, Landscape Architecture/SLU
  • Deputy: Rolf Johansson, Landscape Architecture/SLU
  • Petra Thorpert, Landscape Architecture/SLU
  • Deputy: Anders Larsson, Landscape Architecture/SLU